Keeping it short

Click here for the Finnish version: Lyhyemmin

This blog has reached its third year, and nearly 2,000 views. Woohoo. Anyhow, I’m going to try something new.

A while ago was not only NaNoWriMo, which I intended to take part in but ended up skipping because I had a very good excuse, but also something called NaBloPoMo, National Blog Posting Month, where the challenge was to post a weblog entry every day for a month. I didn’t participate in that, but I got thinking about what kind of posts I’d have to make to be able to do so. Obviously, they’d have to be much shorter and less thought out than usual.

I always have ideas whirling around my head that I could write about if I had the time and energy, and after thinking about the possible short posts, I started getting these ideas largely in the form of how I could make them really short. And since it takes so much time to write the longer ones and I don’t tend to have that time, I thought, why not? So for now, my intention is to write mainly shorter posts, sort of sketches about a rather limited idea. Of course, this weblog has always been a bit like that, since I don’t make the effort I would if I were writing a book or an academically published article, but these short posts will be even more so. As before, though I don’t think I’ve mentioned that, comments on how to develop the ideas are welcome in the comment section.

Since the short posts won’t take much time in the first place, I’ll try to write them in both Finnish and English again (in contrast with my previous time-saving resolution). I will put these (and some previous) short posts in their own category “Short”.

I think I’ll also aim to post at least once per week. I thought WordPress had a tool to keep track of that, but I can’t find it, but I’ll try to do so anyway.

Leave a Reply

